THE COMMITTEE ON TEACHING ABOUT THE UNITED NATIONS



WAR NO MORE

58 FEBRUARY 2020 CONFERENCE

Trusteeship Council Chamber, United Nations Headquarters 10:00-4:30

THE SOSO CTAUN CONFERENCE IS CO-SPONSORED BY THE



Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations

WAR NO MORE is dedicated to honoring the United Nations on its 75^{th} anniversary and to calling for the full Implementation of the UN Charter,

We the peoples determined to save succeeding generations from the scourge of war...

*We acknowledge with gratitude the partial support for this conference from the Korea International Cooperation Agency (**KOICA**)

Conference Morning Session (10:00-12:15)

- Opening Welcome: Under-Secretary-General and the Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict Virginia Gamba; Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea to the UN, Ambassador Cho Hyun; CTAUN Chair Anne-Marie Carlson
- Creating Peace: The Role of Civil Society and Women in Prevention of War and in Peace Processes – Liberian Peace Activist and 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Leymah Gbowee; Writer, Political Activist, and Feminist Organizer Gloria Steinem; and CEO ERA Coalition Carol Jenkins as Facilitator
- Interlude: Global Citizen Award in Memory of Barbara Walker Narin Stassis, CTAUN Vice-Chair
- Peace Education and Transformative Education: Coordinator, Global Campaign for Peace Education Tony Jenkins; Founder, and President Intercultural Virtual Exchange of Classroom Activities Eunhee Jung; Deputy Director for Partnership and Public Engagement, Chief of United Nations Academic Impact Ramu Damodaran as Facilitator
- Interlude: Excellence in Education Award Eileen Venezia, CTAUN Director-at-Large
- New Technologies: Hypersonics, Artificial Intelligence, Drones, etc. Senior Visiting Fellow, Arms Control Association Michael Klare; Senior Fellow, Global Center on Cooperative Security Eleonore Pauwel; Award Winning Journalist, Media Innovator and Emerging Technologies Expert Adaora Udoji; and Columbia University Graduate Student Mark Wood as Facilitator
- Interlude: Poster Competition Awardees William Lay, Chair CTAUN Poster Award

Lunch and InfoFair (12:15-2:15)

Conference Afternoon Session (2:15-4:30)

- Interlude: "We Are Rising", Camille Dianand, Film Maker and Graduate Student
- Women, Peace, and Security: Founder and CEO Global Network of Women Peacebuilders (GNWP) Mavic Cabrera Balleza; Young Women for Peace and Leadership Dinah Lakehal, Mallika Iyer, and Heela Yoon; Professor Emeritus of Peace Studies Notre Dame Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies George Lopez as Facilitator
- Interlude: Securing Our Common Future United Nations Secretary-General Antonio Guterres' Disarmament Message
- Disarmament: United Nations Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs Izumi Nakamitsu; Executive Advisor to Mayors for Peace Randy Rydell; and NYC Youth Poet Laureate Camryn Bruno; and George Lopez as Facilitator
- Interlude: Video Message from Ben Ferencz, Lead Prosecutor for Nuremberg War Trials
- World Peace Through Law: Force of Law, Not the Law of Force – Ambassador Christian Wenaweser, Permanent Representative Principality of Liechtenstein; former Counsel to International Trials former Yugoslavia James T. Ranney; and attorney Jutta F. Bertram-Nothnagel as Facilitator
- Closing Statement: "The Future We Want", Cora Weiss, CTAUN Honorary Patron

For complete bios go to: www.teachun.org